Day 1
02 Nov 2023


Registration at the EEIC starts at 8:30

Opening Session

José Nascimento, ISEL President Lídia Santiago, Ordem dos Engenheiros Ana Brochado, Ordem dos Economistas Jorge Sousa, EEiC2023 Chair, Portuguese Association for Energy Economics (APEEN) / ISEL

Plenary session #1: Artificial intelligence applications in the energy sector

Chair: Nuno Pinho da Silva, R&D Nester Digital twins and AI demand forecasting for EV charging stations Christos Stefanatos, Managing Partner, Parity Platform P.C. João Maciel, EDP New  
10:30 - 11:00

Coffee break

Plenary session #2: Unlocking citizens participation in a sustainable energy future

Chair: Pedro Carvalho, Instituto Superior Técnico – University of Lisbon Ana Rita Antunes, Coopérnico Ricardo Prata, E-Redes

Plenary session #3: Geopolitics of the energy transition

Chair: Isabel Soares, University of Porto / APEEN Vice-President José Pedro Teixeira Fernandes, IPRI-NOVA / Instituto Português de Relações Internacionais  
13:00 - 14:30


Session A1 | Session A2 | Session A3 | Session A4

Session A1 – Energy policy and regulation | Auditorium C Chair: José Villar (INESC TEC) Comparison of Selected Self-Consumption Regulatory Approaches in Europe Armando Moreno, Joao Mello, José Villar INESC...
Read More
16:00 - 16:30

Coffee break

Session B1 | Session B2 | Session B3 | Session B4 |

Session B1 – Modeling electricity prices and loads | Auditorium C Chair: Daniela Pereira Macedo (University of Beira Interior) Determinants and Forecasts of Wholesale Electricity Prices in Iberian Peninsula: An...
Read More
19:00 - 22:00

Conference Dinner

Day 2
03 Nov 2023

Plenary session #4: Hydrogen infrastructures challenges at the EU level

Chair: Nuno Moreira, CEO Dourogás / Ordem dos Engenheiros Developing an European hydrogen infrastructure Irina Minciuna, European Commission Hydrogen’s impact on grids Nuno de Souza e Silva, Managing Director R&D...
Read More
10:30 - 11:00

Coffee break

Round table: PNEC 2030 – Are we setting Energy and Climate targets right?

Chair: Jorge Sousa, EEiC2023 Chair, Portuguese Association for Energy Economics (APEEN) / ISEL Jerónimo Meira da Cunha, DGEG General-Director Pedro Neves Ferreira, EDP Head of Energy Management Pedro Furtado, REN Director for Regulation and...
Read More

APEEN Young Researcher Prize / APEEN Best Student Paper Award

Margarita Robaina, University of Aveiro / APEEN Vice-President João Lagarto, EEiC2023 Vice-Chair ISEL / APEEN

Registration & Helpdesk open from 8:00 to 18:00